## Proceeedings.

# Proceedings of the Statistical and Social Inquiry Secrety of Ireland

## FIFTY-SEVENTH SESSION—FIRST MEETING.

## [27th November, 1903]

The Society met at the Leinster Lecture Hall, 35 Molesworth Street, on Friday evening, November 27th, at 8.15 p.m. The President in the Chair.

Mr. Nicholas J. Synnott read a paper entitled "The Housing of the Rural Labourer in Ireland" A discussion followed, in which the President, Mr. Commissioner Lynch, Messrs. Barrington, Lawson, Oldham, and T W Russell, M.P., (visitor) took part. Mr. Louis S. Smith, Local Government Board, of 26 Northbrook Road, was elected a member of the Society.

#### SECOND MEETING

#### [18th December, 1903.]

The Society met at the Leinster Lecture Hall, 35 Molesworth Street, on [Friday evening, December 18th, at 8.15 p.m. The President in the Chair.

His Honor Judge Shaw read a paper entitled "Fiscal Policy— Some Lessons from the Blue Book." A discussion followed in which the President, Messrs. Geoghegan, Albert Quill (visitor), J. T. Pim, Samuels, K.C., Cowan, Samuel Moore (visitor), and Sergeant Dodd took part. The following were elected members of the Society— T. Bateman, The Green, Malahide, H. L. Cowdy, Trinity College; Mr. Commissioner Finucane, 12 Upper Merrion Street, W. A. FitzHenry, 28 Dartmouth Square, G W Place, 9 Ailesbury Road.

#### THIRD MEETING.

#### [29th January, 1904.]

The Society met at the Leinster Lecture Hall, 35 Molesworth Street, on Friday evening, January 29th, at 8.15 p.m. The Rev. T. A Finlay in the Chair.

Mr. Charles Stanuell being prevented by illness from attending to read this paper on "The General Management of Indian Railways," the reading of the paper was postponed.]

Mr. Thomas McGovern, Harcourt Street, was elected a member of the Society.

## FOURTH MEETING.

[4th March, 1904]

The Society met at the Leinster Lecture Hall, 35 Molesworth Street, on Friday evening March 4th, at 815 p.m. The Registrar. General, Vice-President, in the Chair.

Popular addresses on the Fiscal Question (Free Trade and Protection), was delivered by the selected candidates for the Barrington Lectureship; Messrs. H. L. Cowdy, B A., Dublin University, Barristerat-Law; Thomas Jones, M.A., Glasgow University, H. Lees Smith, M.A., Vice-Principal, Ruskin College, Oxford, P. J. Merriman, M.A., Royal University of Ireland.

The chairman announced that the decision of the Trustees would be made known in a few days.

## FIFTH MEETING.

#### [25th March, 1904.]

The Society met at the Leinster Lecture Hall, 35 Molesworth Street, on Friday evening, March 25th, at 8.15 p.m. The President in the Chair.

Mr. C. H. Oldham read a paper entitled "Kartels and Syndicates in German Industries." The President announced that Mr. Thomas Jones, M.A., Glasgow University, had been appointed Barrington Lecturer.

The paper was discussed by the President, and Mr. Thomas Jones.

Mr. J. Creed Meredith, Barrister-at-Law, was elected a member of the Society.

## SIXTH MEETING.

# [21st April, 1904.]

The Society met at the Leinster Lecture Hall, 35 Molesworth Street, on Thursday evening, April 21st, at 8.15 p.m. The President in the Chair.

Mr. Arthur Samuels, K.C., read a paper entitled "Scottish Private Bill Legislation in Working." A discussion followed in which the President, Messrs. Lawson, Cherry, McGovern, and Macassey (visitor) took part.

### SEVENTH MEETING.

# [10th June, 1904.]

The Society met at the Leinster Lecture Hall, 35 Molesworth Street, on Friday, June 10th, at 4.30 p.m. The President in the Chair

Mr. Charles Stanuell read his paper entitled, "The Government

Management of Indian Railways," (postponed from January 29th). A discussion followed in which the President, Messrs. Dawson, and Oldham took part.

The election of officers for the Session 1904-1905 took place, and resulted as follows  $\cdot$ 

President, R. E. Matheson, LL.D., Registrar-General. Hon-Treasurer, P. J. O'Neill. Hon. Secretaries, William Lawson, Ninian M. Falkiner, C. H. Oldham. Council, J. G. Alcorn, Judge Carton, Charles Dawson, C. Litton Falkiner, Rev. T. A. Finlay, William Field, M.P., W. J. Johnston, A. W. Samuels, K.C., Charles A. Stanuell, N. J. Synnott, W. F. Webb, and Isaac Yeats.

A vote of thanks was passed, on the motion of Mr. Commissioner Lynch, seconded by Mr. Dawson, to Mr. Commissioner Bailey, the out-going President, for the valuable services he had rendered as President during the past two years. Mr. Commissioner Bailey returned thanks. Mr. R. E. Matheson returned thanks for his election as President.