

Proceedings of the Statistical and Social Inquiry of Ireland One Hundred and Sixty-Seventh Session: 2013/2014

First Meeting

The first ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 24th October 2013 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the chair. Prof. Stefan Gerlach and Ms. Rebecca Stuart (Central Bank of Ireland) delivered a paper entitled *Money Demand in Ireland, 1933-2012*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Prof. Morgan Kelly (UCD) and seconded by Dr Ella Kavanagh (UCC). Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Luca Onorante, Prof. Patrick Honohan, Prof. John FitzGerald and Dr Christopher Sibley. The President invited the authors to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors.

Second Meeting

The second ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 21st November 2013 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. The meeting was a Symposium on "Safeguarding trust in official statistics - launching a Code of Practice for the Irish Statistical System". The speakers were Dr Patricia O'Hara (Chairperson of the National Statistics Board and member of the European Statistical Governance Advisory Board), Mr Walter Radermacher (Director General of Eurostat), Mr Pádraig Dalton (Director General of CSO) and Mr Martin Fraser (Secretary General of the Dept. of the Taoiseach). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Gerry O'Hanlon, Mr Joe McNeill, Prof. Frances Ruane, Dr Patrick Quill, Mr Tom Ferris and Mr Terry Corcoran. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors.

Third Meeting

The third ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 12th December 2013 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the chair. Dr Patrick McCloughan (PCMA Economic Consulting) delivered a paper entitled *Income and Income Tax Inequalities in Ireland – New Evidence and Further Illustration of the Progressivity of the Irish Income Tax System*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Prof. Tim Callan (ESRI) and seconded by Mr David Hegarty (Dept of Finance). Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Tom Healy, Mr Tom O'Connell, Mr Roger O'Keefe, Dr Rory O'Farrell, Mr Noel O'Gorman, Mr Noel Cahill and Prof John FitzGerald. The President invited the author to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the author and the contributors.

Fourth Meeting

The fourth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 30th January 2014 at the ESRI, Whitaker Square, Dublin 2. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the chair. Ms Yvonne McCarthy (Central Bank of Ireland) gave the 2013/14 Barrington Lecture on the topic *Dis-entangling the mortgage arrears crisis: The role of the labour market, income volatility and negative equity.* Contributions from the floor were made by Ms Jean Goggin, Mr Michael Terry, Prof. Christopher Whelan, Mr Brendan Burgess, Dr Donal de Buitleir, Mr Karl Deeter, Dr Martina Lawless, Mr Kieran Walsh, Dr Ronan Lyons, Prof. Frances Ruane, Mr Pat McArdle, Mr Brendan Ryan, Mr Conall MacCoille, Prof. Brian O'Kelly, Mr John Corcoran and Mr Austin Hughes. Ms McCarthy responded to the comments and questions raised. The President congratulated Ms McCarthy on her lecture and presented her with the Barrington prize and medal.

Fifth Meeting

The fifth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 6th March 2014 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the chair. Ms Mary Dalton and Mr Shane Enright (Dept of Finance) delivered a paper entitled *The Impact of The Patent Cliff on Pharma-Chem Output in Ireland*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Chris Van Egeraat (NUIM) and seconded by Mr

Michael Connolly (CSO). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Kevin Timoney, Prof. David Jacobson, Mr Pat McArdle, Mr Noel O'Gorman, Prof. Louis Brennan, Mr Martin O'Brien, Mr Brendan Ryan and Prof. John FitzGerald. The President invited the authors to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the author and the contributors.

Sixth Meeting

The sixth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 10th April 2014 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the chair. Prof. Cathal O'Donoghue from the Teagasc Rural Economy and Development Programme presented a paper co-authored with Mr Cathal Geoghegan, Dr Kevin Heanue and Dr David Meredith entitled *The Economic Structure of Towns in Ireland*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Edgar Morgenroth (ESRI) and seconded by Dr Mark Scott (UCD). Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Chris Van Egeraat, Mr Michael Terry, Mr Roy Johnston, Mr Mark Faherty, Prof. Frances Ruane, Mr Noel O'Gorman, Ms Eithne FitzGerald and Prof. John FitzGerald. The President invited the authors to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors.

Seventh Meeting

The seventh ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 1st May 2014 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin after the Society's AGM. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the chair. Ms Jillian Delaney of the Central Statistics Office delivered a paper co-authored with Dr Steve MacFeely and entitled *Extending Supply Side Statistics for the Tourism Sector: A new approach based on linked-administrative data*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr Caeman Wall (Fáilte Ireland) and seconded by Prof. Jim Deegan (University of Limerick). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Michael Terry, Mr Bill Keating, Mr Noel O'Gorman, Prof. Brendan Whelan, Prof. Paul Walsh, Dr Patrick Quill, Dr Ziene Mottiar, Dr Christopher Sibley, Ms Niamh Brennan, Mr Raymond Keaney, Mr Peter Nash and Prof John FitzGerald. The President invited the authors to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors.

Eighth Meeting

The eighth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 4:00pm on Thursday 29th May 2014 at the Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency, Castle Street, Belfast. Honorary Secretary Dr Norman Caven was in the chair. Mr Brian Green and Dr Jos IJpelaar (NISRA) delivered their paper entitled *Using an Administrative Primary Care Health Activity Indicator to Address Under-enumeration in the 2011 Census in Northern Ireland.* The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr Aidan Punch and seconded by all present. Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Martin Mayock, Dr Muiris MacCarthaigh, Ms Deirdre Cullen and Mr Robert Beatty. The Honorary Secretary invited the authors to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors.

Seán Lyons Honorary Secretary