

Proceedings of the Statistical and Social Inquiry of Ireland One Hundred and Sixty-Eighth Session: 2014/2015

First Meeting

The first ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 9th October 2014 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof John FitzGerald, was in the chair. Ms Mary Everett delivered her paper entitled *Financial constraints and the internationalisation of Irish firms*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Prof. Frank Barry (TCD) and Mr Seamus Coffey (UCC). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Martin O'Brien, Mr Kevin Brady, Prof. John FitzGerald, Dr Patrick Quill, Prof. Frances Ruane and Mr Michael Terry. The President invited the author to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the author and the contributors.

Second Meeting

The second ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Wednesday 29th October 2014 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof John FitzGerald, was in the chair. Dr Thomas Conefrey (IFAC), Dr Martina Lawless (ESRI) and Ms Suzanne Linehan (Central Bank of Ireland) delivered their paper entitled *Developments in the Irish Labour Market during the Crisis: What Lessons for Policy?* The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Aedín Doris (NUIM) and seconded by Mr Terry Corcoran (DSP). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Gabriel Fagan, Prof. Frances Ruane, Mr John McKeon, Ms Eithne FitzGerald, Mr Kevin Timoney, Prof. John FitzGerald and Mr Brian Ring. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors.

Third Meeting

The third ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 15th January 2015 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof John FitzGerald, was in the chair. Prof. Philip Lane (TCD) delivered his paper entitled *The Funding of the Irish Domestic Banking System During the Boom* The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Gregory Connor (Maynooth University) and seconded by Mr Dermot Coates (Central Bank of Ireland). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Gabriel Fagan, Mr Michael Terry, Prof. Stefan Gerlach, Ms Mary Everett, Mr Noel O'Gorman, Mr Austin Hughes, Dr Daragh Clancy, Mr Joe Durkan, Mr Pat McArdle, Prof. Patrick Honohan, Ms. Mary Doyle, Dr Seán Lyons and Mr Stephen McDonagh. The President invited the presenter to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the author and the contributors.

Fourth Meeting

The fourth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 19th February 2015 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. The meeting was a Symposium on the Labour Market. The speakers were Dr Elish Kelly (ESRI) on "The equality impact of the employment crisis", co-authored by Ms Gillian Kingston, Dr Helen Russell, and Ms Frances McGinnity (also from ESRI); Mr John Martin (Geary Institute, UCD) on "Activation and active labour market policies in OECD countries: stylized facts and evidence on their effectiveness" and Dr Frank Walsh (UCD) on "Union membership in Ireland since 2003". Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Paul Sweeney, Mr Robert Watt, Mr Joe Durkan, Mr Felix Coleman, Dr Helen Russell, Ms Oonagh Buckley, Prof. John FitzGerald, Ms Eithne FitzGerald, and Mr Noel O'Gorman. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors.

Fifth Meeting

The fifth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 5th March 2015 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. The President asked members present to vote on a proposed amendment to Law 8 of the society's Laws and Constitution. The proposal is to amend Law 8 by referring to the AGM being "normally held in the month of May" rather than "held in the month of May" and the deadline for nominations being set to "not less than 10 days preceding" the AGM rather than "not later than the 20th April" preceding it. The motion was carried. Martin O'Brien (Central Bank of Ireland) delivered a paper co-authored by Sarah Frost and Jean Goggin, also of the Central Bank. It was entitled *Was the early food the late poison? Foreign banks and the retail credit market during Ireland's financial crisis.* The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr Rossa White (NTMA) and seconded by all present. Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Brendan Burgess, Dr Seán Lyons, Mr Padraig McGowan, Prof. John FitzGerald, Mr Noel O'Gorman, Mr Paul Donnelly, Mr Daniel O'Callaghan, Dr Patrick Quill and Mr Noel Cahill. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors.

Sixth Meeting

The sixth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 4:00pm on Wednesday 15th April 2015 at the Central Statistics Office, Skehard Road, Cork. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. The President asked members present to vote on a proposed amendment to Law 8 of the society's Laws and Constitution. The proposal is to amend Law 8 by referring to the AGM being "normally held in the month of May" rather than "held in the month of May" and the deadline for nominations being set to "not less than 10 days preceding" the AGM rather than "not later than the 20th April" preceding it. The motion was carried. As this was the second vote on the motion, the Laws and Constitution have been amended. Mr Michael Savage (ESRI) delivered a paper co-authored by Prof. Tim Callan and Mr John R. Walsh, also of the ESRI. It was entitled *Financial Incentives to Work in Ireland*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr Tom McMahon (CSO) and seconded by all present. Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Gregg Patrick, Mr Richie McMahon, Mr Patrick Foley, Prof. John FitzGerald, Mr Brian Cahill and Mr Kevin Phelan. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors. The seventh ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 30th April 2015 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair.

Seventh Meeting

The seventh ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 30th April 2015 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. Dr Ronan Lyons (TCD) gave the 2014/15 Barrington Lecture on the topic "Housing supply in Ireland since 1990: the role of costs and regulation". Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Fadi Hassan, Ms Eithne FitzGerald, Mr John Corcoran, Mr Michael Terry, Ms Orlaith Delargy, Prof. John O'Hagan, Prof. John FitzGerald, Mr Tom McCarthy, and Mr Martin O'Brien. Dr Lyons responded to the comments and questions raised. The President congratulated Dr Lyons on his lecture and presented him with the Barrington prize and medal.

Eighth Meeting

The eighth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 3:45pm on Thursday 4th of June 2015 at Land and Property Services, Lanyon Place, Belfast. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. Ms Ciara Cunningham (LPS Statistics Branch) and Dr Tracy Power (NISRA) delivered their paper on the Northern Ireland Residential Property Price Index. The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr Joe Frey (NI Housing Executive) and Dr David Duffy (ESRI). Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Seán Lyons, Dr David Marshall, Mr Robert Beatty, Prof. John FitzGerald, Dr Norman Caven and Prof. Chris Paris. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors.

Seán Lyons Honorary Secretary 4th June 2015