

Proceedings of the Statistical and Social Inquiry of Ireland One Hundred and Sixty-Ninth Session: 2015/2016

First Meeting

The first ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5pm on Thursday 15th October 2015 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. The meeting was a Symposium on Pathways to Universality of Healthcare in Ireland. Dr Steve Thomas (TCD) presented a paper on "Pathways to Universal Healthcare – Mind the Gap" co-authored with colleagues at the Centre for Health Policy and Management, the WHO and the European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies. Dr Maev-Ann Wren and Dr Sheelah Connolly (ESRI) presented a paper on "An approach to estimating the effects of financing system change on Irish healthcare expenditure" co-authored with Mr Nathan Cunningham. Contributions from the floor were made by Ms Eithne FitzGerald, Dr James O'Mahony, Mr Felix Coleman, Dr Seán Lyons, Mr Brian Costello, Prof John FitzGerald, Mr Paul Donnelly, Prof Gerry Hughes, Mr Noel O'Gorman, Ms Kate Flinter, Ms Ciara O'Shea and Mr Anthony McCashin. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and the contributors.

Second Meeting

The second ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday 19th November 2015 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. Dr Neave O'Clery (Harvard) delivered her paper on "A Tale of Two Clusters: Economic Complexity in Ireland 1995-2012". The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Céline McHugh (Dept. of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation) and Dr Eoin O'Leary (UCC). Contributions from the floor were made by Prof Frank Barry, Mr Adam Whittle, Prof Paul Walsh, Mr Gerry Wrynn, Dr Christopher Sibley, Dr Patrick Quill, Ms Orla McCarthy and Prof John FitzGerald. The President invited the presenter to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the author and contributors.

Third Meeting

The third ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday 14th January 2016 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. Dr Nicola Timoney and Dr John Hogan (DIT) delivered their paper on "A discursive institutionalist approach to understanding the changes to the Irish social partnership policy after 2008". The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr David Begg (TASC) and Mr Danny McCoy (IBEC). Contributions from the floor were made by Prof Frank Barry, Dr Roy Johnston, Mr Robert Watt, Dr Seán Healy, Mr Stephen Weir, Mr Paul Sweeney, Ms Oonagh Buckley, Mr Joe Durkan, Prof John FitzGerald, Mr Noel T O'Gorman and Prof Frances Ruane. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and contributors

Fourth Meeting

The fourth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday 11th February 2016 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair.Dr Gregory Swinand (Indecon) presented a paper co-authored with Dr Amy O'Mahoney (OFGEM) on "Estimating the impact of household energy savings measures for Ireland using the BER database". The vote of thanks was proposed by Ms Sheona Gilsenan (CSO) and Dr John Curtis (ESRI). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Noel T O'Gorman, Prof John FitzGerald, Dr Niall Farrell, Mr Gerard Keogh, Mr Noel Cahill, Mr Gerry Brady and Mr Eamonn Mulholland. The President invited the presenter to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and contributors.

Fifth Meeting

The fifth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday 3rd March 2016 at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. Dr Mark McGovern (QUB) delivered the Barrington Lecture on "Progress and the Lack of Progress in Addressing Infant Health and Infant Health Inequalities in Ireland during the 20th Century". Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Seán Lyons, Dr Christopher Sibley, Prof Patrick Honohan, Dr Stephen Weir, Prof Liam Delaney, Mr Dominic O'Dowd, Prof Paul Walsh and Prof John FitzGerald. The President invited the presenter to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the author and contributors and making the presentation of the Barrington Prize to Dr McGovern.

Sixth Meeting

The sixth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 4:00pm on Thursday 24th March 2016 at the Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency, Castle Street, Belfast. The Honorary Secretary, Dr. Norman Caven, was in the Chair. Dr Mark McGovern (QUB) read his Barrington Prize winning paper on "Progress and the Lack of Progress in Addressing Infant Health and Infant Health Inequalities in Ireland during the 20th Century". Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Alan Fernihough, Mr Robert Beatty, Dr Norman Caven, Dr Chris Colvin, Dr Dermot O'Reilly, Mr Philip McDonagh, and Dr David Marshall. The chair invited the presenter to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking those that had contributed.

Seventh Meeting

The seventh ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 4:00pm on Thursday 14th April 2016 at the Central Statistics Office, Skehard Road, Cork. The President, Prof John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. Dr Micheál Collins (NERI) presented a paper on "Earnings and Low Pay in the Republic of Ireand". The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr Brian Ring (CSO) and Dr Donal de Buitléir (PublicPolicy.ie). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Richie McMahon, Mr Fergal O'Connor, Mr Andrew Powell, Mr Eoin Flaherty, Mr Patrick Foley and Prof John FitzGerald. The President invited the presenter to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the author and contributors, as well as colleagues at the CSO for hosting the meeting.

Eighth Meeting

The eighth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 19th May 2016, at Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin after the Society's AGM. The Vice-President, Mr Paul Sweeney, was in the Chair. The President, Prof. John FitzGerald delivered his Presidential Address on "A Hundred and Fifty Years of Vital Statistics: Documenting Demographic Change in Ireland". Contributions from the floor were made by Dr James O'Mahony, Prof. Frank Barry, Mr Brendan Ryan, Mr Gerry O'Hanlon, Mr Damien Courtney, Prof. David Jacobson, Prof. Paul Walsh, Mr Paul Sweeney, Prof. Patrick Honohan, Dr Norman Caven, Prof. Frances Ruane, Dr Stephen Weir. The chair invited the President to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking those that had contributed.

Martin O'Brien Honorary Secretary 19th May 2016