

Secretary's Report

Proceedings of the Statistical and Social Inquiry of Ireland One Hundred and Seventieth Session: 2016/2017

First Meeting

The first ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 19th October 2016, at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The Vice-President, Dr Donal de Buitleir, was in the Chair. Mr Karl Deeter (Irish Mortgage Brokers) and Mr Francis Quinn (Blackrock Further Education Institute) presented their joint paper with Dr David Duffy (Property Industry Ireland) titled 'Dublin house prices: A history of booms and busts from 1708-1949'. The vote of thanks was proposed by Professor Ronan Lyons (TCD) and seconded by Professor John FitzGerald (TCD). Contributions from the floor were made by Professor Seán Lyons, Mr Colm Fitzgerald, Mr Colm McCarthy and Mr Noel O'Gorman. The chair invited the authors to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed.

Second Meeting

The second ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 10th October 2016, at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. Mr Timothy Linehan (CSO) presented his paper titled 'Towards an Irish Recorded Crime Index'. The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Gurchand Singh (An Garda Síochána Analysis Service) and seconded by all present. Contributions from the floor were made by Mr David Crowe, Mr Aidan Gormley, Dr Charles Larkin, Mr Noel O'Gorman and Mr Martin O'Brien. The President invited the author to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed.

Third Meeting

The third ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 19th January 2017, at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. Dr Rebecca Stuart (Central Bank of Ireland) presented the Barrington Lecture titled '70 Years of Personal Disposable Income and Consumption in Ireland'. Contributions from the floor were made by Professor. Sean Lyons, Dr Reamonn Lydon, Professor Ronan Lyons, Dr Patrick Quill, Mr Joe Durkan, Mr Feargal Ó Brolcháin, Mr Bill Keating, Professor Frances Ruane, Mr Michael Tierney and Mr Noel O'Gorman. The President invited the author to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed and making the presentation of the Barrington Prize to Dr Stuart.

Fourth Meeting

The fourth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 23th February 2017, at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The Vice President, Professor John FitzGerald, was in the Chair. Professor Frank Barry (TCD) presented his paper on 'The Irish Single-Currency Debate of the 1990s in Retrospect'. The vote of thanks was proposed by Professor Patrick Honohan and seconded by Mr Colm McCarthy. Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Dan O'Brien, Dr Finola Kennedy, Mr Rafique Mottiar, Mr Noel O'Gorman, Mr William Scally, Ms Mary Doyle, Mr Cormac Lucey, Professor Sean Barrett, Mr Joe Durkan, Professor John FitzGerald and Dr Rory O'Donnell. The President invited the author to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed.

Fifth Meeting

The fifth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 3:30pm on Thursday, 30th March 2017, at the Central Statistics Office, Skehard Road, Cork. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. Professor Tim Callan and Dr

Claire Keane (ESRI) presented their joint paper with colleagues on 'Income-Tested Health Entitlements: Microsimulation Modelling Using SILC'. The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr Terrence Hynes (Dept. of Health) and seconded by Mr Brian Ring (CSO). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Patrick Foley, Mr Martin O'Brien, Mr Richard McMahon, Mr Damien Linehan and Professor Frances Ruane. The President invited the authors to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed, especially colleagues from the CSO for hosting the meeting.

Sixth Meeting

The sixth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:00pm on Thursday, 20th April 2017, at the Central Bank of Ireland, North Wall Quay, Dublin. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. The meeting was the Society's Annual Symposium, with the theme being 'Globalisation, Inequality and the Rise of Populism'. Presentations were given by Professor Brian Nolan (Oxford), Dr Theresa Reidy (UCC) and Professor Richard Layte (TCD-ESRI). Contributions from the floor were made by Professor Christopher Whelan, Mr Ian Hughes, Mr Austin Hughes, Mr Denis Murphy, Professor Patrick Honohan, Ms Mary Doyle, Dr Laura Flannelly, Professor Frances Ruane and Dr Thomas Conefrey. The President invited the speakers to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed, especially colleagues from the Central Bank for hosting the meeting.

Seventh Meeting

The seventh ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 25th May 2017, at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. The meeting was the Society's Annual General Meeting, following which Mr Diarmaid Smyth (Central Bank of Ireland) read his paper 'The Recovery in the Public Finances in Ireland following the Financial Crisis'. The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr John McCarthy (Department of Finance) and was seconded by all present. Contributions from the floor were made by Professor Ronan Lyons, Mr Paul Sweeney, Professor John FitzGerald, Mr Kevin Timoney, Dr Thomas Conefrey, Mr Feargal O'Brolchain, Mr Austin Hughes, Mr Noel O'Gorman and Professor Frances Ruane. The President invited the speaker to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed.

Eighth Meeting

The eighth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 4:00pm on Thursday, 22nd May 2017, at the Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency (NISRA), Colby House, Stranmillis Court, Belfast. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. Dr Dermot O'Reilly and Mr Michael Rosato of Queens University Belfast presented their paper 'Using Administrative Data to Change Perception about Caregiving and Improve the Evidence Base Related to Volunteering'. The vote of thanks was proposed by Professor Brendan Whelan and was seconded by Ms Rosalyn Moran (Health Research Board). Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Norman Caven, Ms Siobhan Carey, Mr Richard Elliott, Ms Deborah Hyden and Professor Frances Ruane. The President invited the presenters to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed, especially colleagues at NISRA for hosting the event.

Martin O'Brien Honorary Secretary June 2017