

Secretary's Report Proceedings of the Statistical and Social Inquiry of Ireland One Hundred and Seventy First Session: 2017/2018

First Meeting

The first ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 12th October 2017, at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The Vice President, Mr Paul Sweeney, was in the Chair. Dr Jack Short (TCD) presented his paper on "*Traffic injuries in Ireland: A neglected problem*". The vote of thanks was proposed by Ms Aoife O'Grady (Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport) and was seconded by Mr Stephen Watkins (Personal Injuries Assessment Board). Contributions from the floor were made by Professor Seán Barrett, Mr John Lumsden, Professor John FitzGerald, Mr Tom Ferris, Ms Sharon Heffernan and Mr Paul Sweeney. The Vice President invited the presenters to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed.

Second Meeting

The second ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 30^{th} November 2017, at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. Mr Michael Connolly (CSO) presented a paper on "*The Expected and Unexpected Consequences of ESA 2010 – an Irish perspective*". The vote of thanks was proposed by Professor John FitzGerald (TCD), and was seconded by Mr John Verrinder (Eurostat). Contributions from the floor were made by Professor Patrick Honohan, Mr Bill Keating, Mr Joe Durkan, and Mr Erik de Vrijer. The President invited the presenters to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed.

Third Meeting

The third ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 25th January 2018, at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. Dr Karina Doorley (ESRI) delivered the annual Barrington Lecture, based on her paper titled "*Taxation, work and gender equality in Ireland*". Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Seán Lyons, Ms Eithne FitzGerald, Professor Patrick Honohan, Professor Liam Delaney, Dr Laura Bambrick, Dr Aedin Doris, Mr Noel O'Gorman, Professor John FitzGerald, Professor Frances Ruane, Ms Criona Brassil and Ms Mary Doyle. Following the discussion, the President congratulated Dr Doyle for her selection as the winner of the Barrington prize, and presented her with the commemorative silver medal before bringing the meeting to a close.

Fourth Meeting

The fourth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 8th February 2018, at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. Dr John Curtis (ESRI/TCD) presented a paper entitled "*A Method of Disaster Cost Assessment: A case study of the potential economic impact of a nuclear accident affecting Ireland*", joint work with Mr Brian Coyne (TCD) and Professor Edgar Morgenroth (DCU). The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Veronica Smith (EPA), and seconded by all present. Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Martin O'Brien, Professor John FitzGerald, Ms Mary Doyle, Dr Seán Lyons, Mr Feargal O'Brolcháin, Mr Gerry O'Hanlon, and Professor Frances Ruane. The President invited the authors to respond and brought the meeting to a close thanking those who had contributed.

Fifth Meeting

The fifth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 3:30pm on Thursday, 22nd March 2018, at the Central Statistics Office, Skehard Road, Cork. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. Dr Karina Doorley (ESRI) delivered her Barrington Medal winning paper "*Taxation, work and gender equality in Ireland*".

Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Richard McMahon, Mr Barra Casey, Mr Barry O'Leary, Mr James Hegarty, Mr Gregg Patrick, and Mr Damien Courtney. Following the discussion, the President thanked those who had contributed, and colleagues in the CSO for hosting the meeting. The President then brought the meeting to a close.

Sixth Meeting

The sixth ordinary meeting of the Society was held at 5:30pm on Thursday, 26th April 2018, at Chartered Accountants House, Pearse Street, Dublin. The President, Professor Frances Ruane, was in the Chair. The meeting was the Annual Symposium, with the theme being "*Where will the Economy be in 2040? Delivering on the National Planning Framework*". Presentations were made by Professor Henry Overman (LSE), Mr Paul Hogan (Dept of Housing, Planning and Local Government) and Dr Ronan Lyons (TCD). Contributions from the floor were made by Dr James O'Mahony, Mr Dermot O'Leary, Professor Seán Barrett, Dr Reamonn Lydon, Ms Mary Doyle and Mr Gerry O'Hanlon. Following the discussion, the President thanked those who had contributed, and brought the meeting to a close.

Seventh meeting

The seventh ordinary meeting took place on Thursday, 31st May 2018 at 5:30pm at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, Dublin. The Vice President, Dr Donal de Butleir was in the chair. This meeting was the Society's AGM, which was followed by a paper by Dr Eric Doyle (Department of An Taoiseach) titled "*Endowment Effect and Reservation Wage: A behavioural evaluation of the impact of the 2010 Jobseekers Allowance rate changes on labour market outcomes for young unemployed*". Comments and questions from the floor were made by Dr Sean Lyons, Dr Aedin Doris, Dr Thomas Conefrey, Mr Noel O'Gorman and Professor Paul Walsh. The Vice President invited Dr Doyle to respond, before closing the meeting.

Martin O'Brien Honorary Secretary 31st May 2018